Phelps Group is pleased to congratulate Colleen Stockley and Elizabeth Sanderson, who have been respectively appointed as Nunavut’s next Deputy Ministers of Health and of Justice. Premier Peter Taptuna made the announcement.

Colleen Stockley, Deputy Minister of Health

Ms. Colleen Stockley is appointed Deputy Minister of Health, beginning September 2, 2014. She recently held the position of Assistant Deputy Minister (Acting) of the Professional Services Branch of the Department of Health and Community Services, with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. She began her career in 1988 in health care and has held numerous senior level positions in Newfoundland. Ms. Stockley holds a nursing diploma, a bachelor of social work and a master’s degree in business administration from Memorial University of Newfoundland. She is registered with both the Association of Registered Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador (ARNNL) and the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Social Workers (NLASW).

Elizabeth Sanderson, Deputy Minister of Justice

Ms. Elizabeth A. L. Sanderson is appointed Deputy Minister of Justice and takes on the role September 29, 2014. She is an accomplished senior lawyer and public servant who is currently the first Department of Justice participant in the Public Servant-in-Residence Program of the Canada School of Public Service assigned to the Law Faculty, University of Ottawa. Prior to this, Ms. Sanderson spent several years in the Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Aboriginal Affairs portfolio with the Government of Canada Department of Justice. Sanderson holds a bachelor of laws degree from the University of Ottawa and a master of arts degree in Canadian Studies.

Premier Taptuna on the Appointments

“Ms. Sanderson and Ms. Stockley bring a wealth of senior level experience to these deputy minister positions, and I am confident the appointments are sound additions to our government,” said Premier Peter Taptuna. “I congratulate both on successful competitions, and look forward to their strategic contributions to the Government of Nunavut.”